52 Week Challenge

52 Weeks of Susan's Life

Week 48 – #36 Stitched Together

2 Comments

 

Bac Ha Market, Vietnam

Bac Ha Market, Vietnam

Bac Ha Market, Vietnam

On a recent trip to Vietnam, we visited the Bac Ha Market in the northern mountain area of Vietnam.  This was one of the last stops on our itinerary of a 14 day photographic journey.  We were set to meet in the hotel lobby at 5:30AM and walk over to the market before the locals arrived.    It was a dark and rainy day and there was much grumbling within the group about visiting another market in the rain.    In spite of the time and weather conditions the overall thinking was that having traveled all that distance it would be a shame to miss out on some additional local culture.  We were not disappointed.  There were lots of colorful umbrellas and ponchos which added a new dimension to the outside portion of the market.  I wondered inside to get out of the rain and was particularly taken by the beautiful embroidered items.  These hats were intricately stitched with bright colors and designs.  I was able to purchase placemats and pillow covers with the same artistic stitching for a fraction of what it would cost in the USA.

Author: susanbeausang

I moved to Sarasota FL 15 years ago from Philadelphia PA. Shortly before my relocation to Florida I was diagnosed with Alopecia Areata which is an autoimmune disease that causes hair loss. At the time, I didn't understand how this diagnosis would change the course of my life in a very significant manner. Living with hair loss in an appearance driven culture is a challenge I had difficulty returning to my life as I knew it. After a period of adjustment, I decided to try and turn something negative into something positive. I've always considered myself a fashionable and active person. I very quickly discovered that there were few if any, fashionable headwear options for women who choose not to hide behind a wig. I dusted off my Fashion design degree and created a fashion forward option for women who were experiencing hair loss. My creation attempted to bridge the gap between fashion and that of medical hair loss. The beaubeau scarf was created and currently holds 2 US patents on the design. I've been providing fashionable headwear to women all over the world for the past 10 years. So how did I become interested in Photography? My Mom is a very talented photographer from the "film age". I've been blessed to have her influence. I never took the time to really concentrate on photography; opting for sports and most recently my business. My business requires quite a bit of photography so several years ago, I decided to do my own photography and a hobby and passion was born. I'm blessed to have 4 wonderful sons that live in interesting places. Due to time constraints, my travel is limited to visiting family and grand kids but what wonderful subjects! One never knows where a passion will lead you in life but I love taking pictures and discovering the world from the perspective of a camera lens.

2 thoughts on “Week 48 – #36 Stitched Together

  1. beautiful – lovely that you were able to bring some “physical” reminders back with you.

    Like

  2. Lovely bright colours for your rainy day. Skilful embroidery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

