52 Week Challenge

52 Weeks of Susan's Life

Week 33 – #29 Shot at 9AM

4 Comments

My husband and I have lived in Florida for 17 years. When we initially came to Sarasota from Philadelphia I was pretty adamant about not living in a gated community or a golfing community.  We found a charming neighborhood in downtown Sarasota and lived there for 16 years in 3 different homes within a house of each other. We went from 2500 Sq feet to 4000 Sq feet and then back to 2500 Sq feet.  I’ve been itching to “go condo” for several years but my husband was just not ready. Finally last year, I convinced him and we did what we hope will be our final downsizing and move. We found a charming complex in the University Park area.  I walk to the gym most mornings and was waiting for the perfect light to take this photo.  About a month ago at 9AM, it was slightly overcast so I setup my camera and tripod and captured this charming view of our complex.

house3_tonemapped

Author: susanbeausang

I moved to Sarasota FL 15 years ago from Philadelphia PA. Shortly before my relocation to Florida I was diagnosed with Alopecia Areata which is an autoimmune disease that causes hair loss. At the time, I didn't understand how this diagnosis would change the course of my life in a very significant manner. Living with hair loss in an appearance driven culture is a challenge I had difficulty returning to my life as I knew it. After a period of adjustment, I decided to try and turn something negative into something positive. I've always considered myself a fashionable and active person. I very quickly discovered that there were few if any, fashionable headwear options for women who choose not to hide behind a wig. I dusted off my Fashion design degree and created a fashion forward option for women who were experiencing hair loss. My creation attempted to bridge the gap between fashion and that of medical hair loss. The beaubeau scarf was created and currently holds 2 US patents on the design. I've been providing fashionable headwear to women all over the world for the past 10 years. So how did I become interested in Photography? My Mom is a very talented photographer from the "film age". I've been blessed to have her influence. I never took the time to really concentrate on photography; opting for sports and most recently my business. My business requires quite a bit of photography so several years ago, I decided to do my own photography and a hobby and passion was born. I'm blessed to have 4 wonderful sons that live in interesting places. Due to time constraints, my travel is limited to visiting family and grand kids but what wonderful subjects! One never knows where a passion will lead you in life but I love taking pictures and discovering the world from the perspective of a camera lens.

4 thoughts on “Week 33 – #29 Shot at 9AM

  1. Very nice, could be on a magazine cover. Love that you captured some ducks on the pond!

    Like

  2. Looks an ideal place to live.

    Like

  3. so pretty – and what Carolyn said!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

